Winter Wonderland

Standard

It seems very odd to be posting these cards when we are expecting a heat wave in the UK over the next few days! But, yes, I have made a start on my Christmas cards. This is partly because I am currently planning for my card making courses in the Autumn term and partly because I wanted to try out some new stamps and dies I have recently bought. These are two of my favourites so far.

deer This card was quick and easy to make, using various shades of Distress Inks blended onto white card for the sky (I used a punched circle as a mask for the moon), and blending very lightly over strips of torn paper for the snowy hills at the bottom. Then I stamped the trees (Stampin’ Up Lovely as a tree) and the sentiment at the top (this was from Woodware’s Huge Snow set).

The final touch was to add the die cut deer (die by Tim Holtz) – this was cut from cream card and then coloured with Distress Inks.

winter

For my second card I started off by stamping Watercolour wash background stamp by Stampin’Up using 3 different blue DIs. Then I applied texture paste through a snowflakes stencil over the top. In this instance I used translucent paste into which I had mixed some glitter. Unfortunately it was impossible to get a good photo to show up the glistening snowflakes. This close-up shows them slightly better.

snowflakes

I die cut the word ‘wonderland’ (die by Tim Holtz) four times from white card, coloured three of them with blue ink and then glued them one on top of the other with the white word on top.

wonderland

Leave a Reply

