A few pieces of calligraphy

Standard

I have recently been away for a week at Knuston Hall Residential College in Northamptonshire doing a calligraphy course. Some of you know that I go there every year – a great opportunity to improve my calligraphic writing, meet old friends, relax, and I’m afraid eat too much! The hall is situated in its own grounds in the Northants countryside so it is always a very relaxing and enjoyable time. This time we were concentrating on the gothic hand (or blackletter). I haven’t tried this for ages so it took me quite a while to get to grips with it again! I thought I would share with you a few pieces of work I did during the week.

???????????????????????????????

This first example is a Christmas card on which I wrote the word ‘rejoice’  four times on watercolour paper using red gouache, with a little decoration added in gold gouache. I really liked the result so I wrote it out again in black so that I can photocopy it for this year’s Christmas card, adding some colour by hand.

 

 

???????????????????????????????This second piece is a quote by Oscar Wilde, also written with gouache on watercolour paper and with some little highlights added with gold leaf on Miniatum gold size.

 

Finally some pictures of a little folding book which opens out into a hanging decoration…. Christmas again I’m afraid! But this is so appropriate for a Christmas card that I could not resist. I have written the first few lines of ‘Ding dong merrily on high’ inside and decorated it with a few pen made stars and holly.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

3 responses »

  1. I would love to know how to fold this last card – it is so beautiful and unique I would make a dozen for family and closest friends! Unfortunately I would have to have someone do the calligraphy for me.

  2. Pingback: 22 Handmade Calligraphy Christmas Cards | DIY Christmas Cards DIY Projects Do It Yourself Projects and Crafts

Leave a Reply

