On a budget?

Standard

picture of cardOne of the courses I am teaching next term has the theme of card making on a budget. This will include using household stuff such as tea, coffee and lemon juice to create a vintage look, and customising embellishments to match a design. I’ve just made this card as an example: the floral background paper was free in a magazine, the stamped panel has been lighly inked and then sprayed with lemon juice and heated until it turned brown, and I used a paintbrush to apply lemon juice to the torn edges and again heated to give an aged look. The lace was dyed with coffee and I coloured the paper flower with Distress Markers to match my colour theme. The image of the woman was on a sheet of vintage images and photos which I bought ages and ages ago from a local craft shop. They had lots of A4 sheets of card full of different pictures and I think they were something like 3 sheets for £1. The happy birthday was die cut from a small scrap of white card and then coloured with ink.  The most expensive item was the base card which I bought in a pack and works out at 23p for a card and envelope! All together, I estimate that this card has cost me less than 40p to make.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

