Reflections

Standard

sceneI love using torn paper and blending inks to create scenes and thought my new bicycle stamp would work well with this idea. I have also wanted to try out the ‘reflection’ technique using a brayer for ages, so I decided to go for it on this card. I began with the reflection of the trees first as I knew I’d never be able to get the image in the precise position afterwards!! I inked up the trees stamp and laid it down on my work surface, rubber side up. Then you carefully roll a brayer over the stamp to pick up the inked image, and roll it onto your cardstock. This creates a mirror image of the stamp. I rolled mine off onto some scrap paper first as I wanted a fairly light image. After this I was able to stamp the trees again just above the ‘reflection’, trim the card to size and build up the scene around it. I wanted a monochromatic colour scheme so I’ve used various shades of blue inks only.

Leave a Reply

